Archive for September, 2011

New Way to Check License Status in Kansas

Thursday, September 22nd, 2011

Having your license suspended is a very sticky situation. It poses many inconveniences as well as imparts new hassles that were not there before. There is a new addition on the Kansas Department of Revenue’s website that lets drivers check their driver’s license status through their website. This is increasingly helpful because a new law has created a lot of misunderstanding in this area. This law lets people with suspended licenses get a restricted license after 45 days.

The restricted license requires an ignition interlock device for the purpose of driving to and from work. And ignition interlock device is similar to a breathalyzer. It attaches to the inside of the car, and the driver must breathe into it before the car starts. If the driver’s blood alcohol level is above a certain percentage, the car will not start. The device also does periodic breath checks throughout the trip to make sure someone else did not take the test for the driver. Because this feature was added to the website, thousands of people have filed to receive these licenses with ignition interlock devices.

The Department of Revenue is not getting back to people who apply for these restricted licenses immediately. It has taken as long as 45 days for most people to get a lettered response from them. This letter gives them permission to get an interlock device installed as well as provides a section to be filled out and returned to the KDR. This online feature of the website is especially helpful to busy drivers who need their life back. It allows drivers to keep track of where they are in the process to get their license reinstated. You can only get a restricted license if your license was revoked for a DUI charge. This feature is not limited to drivers that live in the state of Kansas. It extends to out of state drives as well. Drivers who are not from Kansas that are charged with a DUI can also check their status online. When someone from another state gets a DUI in Kansas, a Kansas driver’s license number is created for that person. This information can be found through contact with the Kansas Department of Revenue.

At The DUI Clinic, we like to say that friends don’t let friends plead guilty. While many people who have been charged with a DUI are proven guilty, many are not. We can help you level the playing field and get the best results for you. Our goal is to minimize the impact of a DUI charge on your life. Call us today at 888-4-DUI-CLINIC to get you started on your DUI case now.

New DUI Laws and How They Affect You

Tuesday, September 20th, 2011

New Kansas DUI laws were made effective on July 1 of 2011. Many changes have been made that people need to be aware of.

The first is that if you refuse to take a breath, blood or urine test to determine your blood alcohol level, you may face up to a year suspension of your driver’s license and the requirement of a ignition interlock device to be installed. If you take a breath test and the results are anywhere from .08 to .15, this being your first offence, you face a 30-day license suspension. Also you must install an ignition interlock device. The device must be used for 6 months. If this is not your first offence, you may be forced to keep the interlock device for a year.

If your breath test results exceed .15, then you are possibly facing 1-year suspension of your license and the installation of an ignition interlock device once your license is reinstated. If this happens to you, and you need to drive to work or school, you can receive a restricted license after 45 days if you agree to the terms of the interlock device. This also can be used to the advantage of people who had their license suspended before the law was put into effect. The fines for DUIs are increasing by $250.

Another alteration to the law is that rehab in no longer an option to jail time for the second DUI and the ones that follow. The third DUI will be tried as a misdemeanor if there are no previous DUIs over the course of the past ten years. If there are other DUI convictions in the past ten years, it is tried as a felony.

If you are arrested for a fourth DUI, it is considered a felony and you face a minimum of $2,500 in fines, 3 days in jail as well as work release and house arrest. DUI convictions before 2001 are not looked at as previous convictions. After ten years, a DUI may be taken off your record. This all sounds complicated, but it is accurate. Time will tell how the Kansas Department of Revenue will handle cases that were done before the new laws regarding old suspensions and the installation of interlock devices.

At The DUI Clinic, we like to say that friends don’t let friends plead guilty. While many people who have been charged with a DUI are proven guilty, many are not. We can help you level the playing field and get the best results for you. Our goal is to minimize the impact of a DUI charge on your life. Call us today at 888-4-DUI-CLINIC to get you started on your DUI case now.