Charged For the Third Time?
You have been charged with a DUI for the third time. That means the charge is now considered a felony DUI. A felony conviction has grave implications for your life. It means you must disclose the offense on every job application you fill out. You could jeopardize your rights to vote and possess firearms. Because minimum jail time for a felony DUI conviction is 90 days, you could also lose your job.
Working to Reduce the Charge and the Consequences
At The DUI Clinic, our attorneys will look for ways to have the charge reduced. In Kansas, there is a lifetime "look back" to your prior DUI offenses. Essentially, this means that every previous DUI conviction will increase the penalties you face for a future one, regardless of whether the last one happened 30 days or 30 years ago. Missouri, on the other hand, has a 10-year look back period — only DUI convictions in the past 10 years will be considered.
We will look for mistakes in the way the previous charges were handled. We will look for other proof that your previous offenses were authentic. We will make a strong defense for you and prepare to take it all the way through trial. We will do everything we can to help you avoid a felony DUI charge.
The Experience to Make a Strong Case for You
At The DUI Clinic, we devote our entire practice to drunk driving defense. Our lawyer has more than more than 15 years of experience in helping people who have been charged with drunk driving. We have a thorough understanding of the law in Kansas and Missouri pertaining to DUI. We will use that knowledge to make a strong case for you.
Get a Free Consultation
Contact us for a free consultation if you have been charged with a felony DUI. Our Kansas City-area law offices answer all calls and return e-mails promptly; call us at 913-262-4444, toll free at 888-4-DUI-CLINIC or send us an e-mail.